Babar Azam named captain of ICC Men’s ODI Team 2021; no Indians in final XI


Dubai: Just like the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20 team of 2021, no Indian player found a place in the ODI Team of 2021.
As ICC announced it’s ODI team of the year 2021. Three players from Bangladesh are there in the eleven. Two Proteas players have been named along with two players from Sri Lanka as well.

Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been named as the leader of ICC ODI Team of 2021. He scored 939 runs in 29 matches. The ICC, in its statement, noted that Azam played just six ODI matches last year, “but he still managed to score 405 runs at an average of 67.50 with two centuries.”

Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman continued his stellar run in ODI 2021. Playing 6 matches, he aggregated 365 runs at an average of 60.83 with two centuries. “He also scored a memorable ton in Birmingham in conditions that assisted the seamers.  The ICC also commended Zaman for his stellar run in the national side’s ODI matches in 2021.” the statement further read.

Bangladesh had the most cricketers in the XI just goes to show the year they have had. Shakib-al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, and Mustafizur Rahim made the side. Not just the cricketers from Bangladesh, South Africans Janneman Malan (509 runs in eight matches) was picked to open the batting and Rassie van der Dussen,  designated as wicketkeeper.

Sri Lankans Wanindu Hasaranga and Dishmantha Chameera along with Irishmen Paul Stirling also named in the final XI. Ireland’s Paul Stirling who emerged as the highest run-getter of the year with 705 runs in 14 matches.

India, in the year 2021, played six ODIs and won four losing two. The two 50-over series that they played were against England at home, which they won 2-1, and the other was an away clash against Sri Lanka, which was also won by an identical margin.

The likes of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma only played three ODIs in 2021 and same for premier bowlers, who also didn’t play all the six games. The only Indian player, who has played all the ODI matches in 2021 is veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan, who had 297 runs from six games.

ICC ODI Team of 2021: Paul Stirling (Ireland), Janneman Malan (South Africa), Babar Azam (Pakistan), Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan), Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Mushfiqur Rahim (Bangladesh), Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Mustazifur Rahman (Bangladesh), Simi Singh (Ireland) and Dushmantha Chameera (Sri Lanka)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here