The IPL Royalrunners: Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals


Kolkata: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will be seen in action on the third day of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 when they face-off against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in Dubai on September 21. Rajasthan Royals will kick off their campaign of IPL 2020 first game against three-time winners Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on September 22 in Sharjah, UAE.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

RCB are a franchise based in Bangalore founded in 2008. Captained by Virat Kohli, RCB have never won the IPL title to date but finished as runners-up in 2009, 2011 and 2016. They have reached the playoffs in 2010 and 2015.

Their lack of success over the years despite the existence of various noteworthy players has earned them the tag of ‘underachievers’. The team holds the records of both the highest and the lowest totals in the IPL 263/5 and 49 respectively.

Earlier, RCB announced on August 31 that the Australian leg-spinner Adam Zampa has been bought in as a replacement for compatriot Kane Richardson ahead of the upcoming season of IPL.

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), AB de Villiers, Chris Morris, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shivam Dubey, Aaron Finch, Umesh Yadav, Adam Zampa, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Dale Steyn, Moeen Ali, Parthiv Patel, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Mann Singh, Isuru Udana, Devdutt Padikkal, Shahbaz Ahamad, Joshua Philippe, Pavan Deshpande.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals are a franchise based in Jaipur, Rajasthan founded in 2008. Rajasthan Royals are sometimes considered as the “Moneyball” team of the IPL. Captained by Steven Smith, Rajasthan Royals have won the IPL title once in 2008. They have reached the playoffs (in 2013, 2015 and 2018).

In 2015, Rajasthan Royals and CSK was suspended for two years over a 2013 betting scandal, so both of them could not participate in 2016 and 2017 IPL tournaments. They returned to the competition for the 2018 season again.

Squad: Ben Stokes, Steven Smith (Captain), Sanju Samson, Jofra Archer, Jos Buttler, Ankit Rajpoot, Rahul Tewatia, Robin Uthappa, Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Mayank Markande, Kartik Tyagi, Tom Curran, Andrew Tye, Anuj Rawat, David Miller, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Mahipal Lomror, Manan Vohra, Riyan Parag, Shreyas Gopal, Aniruddha Joshi, Akash Singh.