Sridharan Sharath named chairman of BCCI’s junior selection committee

Sridharan Sharath named chairman of India's junior selection committee

Mumbai: Former Tamil Nadu batsman Sridharan Sharath has been appointed as the chairman of India’s junior selection committee, BCCI officially announced on Friday. With an experience of 15 years in the Indian domestic circuit, left-handed Sharath was actually the first cricketer to play 100 first-class matches for his state compiling 8700 runs with 27 centuries and 42 half-centuries.

“It’s a privilege and an honour to be given such a key job, I thank the BCCI and the TNCA for showing faith in me,” added Sarath after his appointment.

The four other members of the respective committee are former Bengal pacer Ranadeb Bose (East Zone), Punjab all-rounder Kishan Mohan (North Zone), Gujarat batsman Pathik Patel (West Zone), and MP medium-fast bowler Harvinder Singh Sodhi (Central).

Meanwhile, Ranadeb, a burly seamer from Bengal took 317 wickets in 91 games for his state and was also a part of the Indian team that clinched the historic test series in England in 2007. Krishan was an off-spinner and batsman for Punjab who took 69 wickets and scored 1,834 runs in his first-class career. The committee will be in charge of selecting the next batch of the India U-19 side who will represent the country at the ICC U-19 World Cup in the West Indies next year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here