KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma earn India T20I series victory over New Zealand


Ranchi: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets in the second T20I in Ranchi to seal the series on Friday with a game still in hand.

KL Rahul(65) and Rohit Sharma(55) starred for the hosts chasing down a total of 154 in 17.2 overs. The duo added a defining 117 runs for the opening wicket setting the tone up right from the word go.

The “Men in Blue” got a steady start in the powerplay getting 45 before the opening duo started picking the pace up. Unlike the usual, it was Rahul who was much of the aggressor in that partnership before getting dismissed in the 14th over with Rohit following his partner soon as well after falling by soft dismissal. The Kiwi bowlers got some of their mojo back picking Suryakumar Yadav up quickly as well but it was all too late. Rishabh struck a couple of maximums off Jimmy Neesham in the 18th over to seal the deal.

Earlier, the Kiwis took off like rocket as Martin Guptill(31) and Daryl Mitchell(31) clobbered the Indian bowlers in the powerplay though the former fell in the 5th over. The Kiwis were running rapidly untill the 12th over when Mitchell fell to debutant Harshal Patel after which the visitors lost their plot completely getting only to 153 despite Glenn Phillips(34) adding a valuable cameo. Harshal Patel(2/25) on his international debut, starred for his national side’s bowling department with taking the Man of the Match award as well later on after the game.

Brief Scores: India 155/3 in 17.2 overs(KL Rahul 65, Rohit Sharma 55; Tim Southee 3/16) beat New Zealand 153/6 in 20 overs(Glenn Phillips 34,Martin Guptill 31; Harshal Patel 2/25) by 7 wickets.