ICC to induct 10 legends in Hall of Fame on a special occasion


Dubai: In an attempt to show respect to the stalwarts of the game, the International Cricket Council (ICC) will induct 10 legends from five eras in the prestigious ICC Hall of Fame at the occasion of the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) Final.

The WTC Final will be played between India and New Zealand in Southampton from June 18-22 — the one which fans around the world are eagerly waiting for. The special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame will have two players each from five eras, dating back to cricket’s early days.

At present, a total of 93 cricketers are included in this list. The 10 legends will be joining an existing list of 93 of the world’s greatest. The names of these players will be announced on all ICC digital channels on June 13.

“It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first-ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton,” ICC acting chief executive Geoff Allardice said in a release.

“We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come.” Geoff added.

The eras include the early cricket era (pre-1918), the pre-war era (1918–1945), the post-war era (1946–1970), the ODI era (1971–1995) and the modern era (1996–2016).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here