Durand Cup 2022 : Phrangki Buam, Muhammed Nemil included in 26-member FC Goa squad


Kolkata : Defending Champion FC Goa announce their 26 member squad for this years Durand Cup. Deggie Cardazo, head coach of development team of FC Goa are in the charge for the tournament.

But four first team players – Phrangki Buam, Muhammed Nemil, Ayush Chhetri and Hrithik Tiwari included in the Durand Cup Squad. Being unbeaten champion last year, this year the Gaurs are in Group A alongside Mohammedan SC, Bengaluru FC, Jamshedpur FC and Indian Air Force. They will start their journey with Mohammedan Sporting at Kolkata on 16th of August.

Speaking ahead of the squad’s departure to Kolkata to defend their crown, Deggie Cardozo said, “The Durand Cup is one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the World, and it’s a good opportunity for us to display our potential at the highest level in India.  We have a young squad who are hungry, eager and ready to prove themselves.

“The atmosphere within the team is positive, as we’ve been working hard for quite some time now. In the run-up to the competition, the team played some good matches and the players are in good shape. I’m confident and optimistic about our chances at the Durand Cup. I feel we’re ready to perform to the best of our abilities.”