Home Football Delhi FC win 2nd division title and qualify for I League 2023-24

Delhi FC win 2nd division title and qualify for I League 2023-24

Delhi FC

New Delhi: Delhi FC has been declared the Champion of 2022-23 2nd Division. Delhi has gained promotion to the I-League with a 3-1 victory against Ambernath United Atlanta on Friday.

Last Sunday, Shillong Lajong FC defeated FC Bengaluru United and became the first team to be promoted this season. The match between Delhi FC and Shillong Lajong FC concluded in a goalless tie, hence Delhi FC won the 2nd Division title on goal difference. Ambernath United Atlanta just needed a point to win their first 2nd Division season, but a brace from Bali Gagandeep and a daring strike from Vanlalhriatzuala capped a spectacular afternoon for Delhi FC.


Playing at home in a must-win game, Delhi FC had their strong foot from the start. They opened the score in the 34th minute with a beautiful team goal, after a half-hour of persistent pressure. Fahad Temuri was freed in acres of space down the left flank by skipper Balwant Singh, and the teenager surged forward before squaring the ball into the box for Bali Gagandeep to side-foot in at full stretch.

Ambernath United Atlanta, who scarcely threatened in the first half, came out strong after the interval. AMbernath United Atlanta levelled in the 48th minute with a similar play to the Delhi FC goal. Johnson Joseph Mathews produced a low cross into the middle from the left for the visitors, and skipper Himanshu Patil pushed his foot out to guide the ball into the net for 1-1.

For Delhi, Gagandeep rose highest in the six-yard box to head home Bhupinder Singh’s excellent corner throw. Vanlalhriatzuala secured the victory for Delhi FC two minutes from time with a spectacular 35-yard shot curling into the top corner.

The 22-year-old had attempted a similar shot in the first half which came off the crossbar, but there was no denying him this time. A top-notch goal to secure the top spot in the table for Delhi FC.