RPSG Group, CVC Capital win bids to own two new IPL teams

Final two league matches of IPL 2021 season set to be played simultaneously

Dubai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced two new IPL teams, and they are none other than Ahmedabad and Lucknow, who will be competing with the existing eight franchises, for the title next year onwards.

While the Ahmedabad team has been successfully bought by the CVC Capital group, with a bid of INR 5166-crore. Lucknow has been taken by Sanjiv Goenka-led RPSG group with a winning bid amount of INR 7090 crores.

The BCCI weighed at least 20 offers before deciding on RPSG Group and CVC Capital group as the new owners. Initially, the bids were reportedly submitted with a minimum bid price of approx USD 270 million but the final purchase price was also expected to soar higher.

With this 10 teams will be seen playing against each other in IPL from 2022 instead of 8. This is not the first time, IPL has been played among 10 teams. The 2011 model will be followed from next season. That will mean an extra 14 matches will be played instead of the current number of 60 matches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here