Ind vs Aus: BCCI announces ODI Squads, Ravi Ashwin comes back, KL Rahul to lead India for 1st


Mumbai: Indian cricket team announced 2 ODI squads for the Home Series against Australia starting from 22nd September.

The squads for the upcoming ODI Series against Australia are divided into 2 parts – 1st Squad for 1st 2 ODIs and the 3rd for the last ODI.

For the 1st 2 ODIS , KL Rahul will lead the side, the 2 veterans Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are rested. Indian legendary off spinner and all rounder Ravi Ashwin has made a comeback to the ODI squad after 20 months, the other prayers include Ravindra Jadeja , opener Shubman Gill, youngsters like Ishan Kishan, Tilak Varma, Asian Games Indian squad captain Ruturaj Gaikwad, 360° Suryakumar Yadav and Shreyas Iyer, recovering from a back spasm. Washington Sundar who was added in the last hours in Asia Cup final playing 11 also makes his return to ODI set up. The pace battery includes Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammad Shami , Shardul Thakur and Asia Cup final hero Mohammad Siraj.

For the 3rd ODI, the inclusions are skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, subjected to fitness and Kuldeep Yadav.

The squads are simply an experiment ahead of the major event – ICC WORLD CUP 2023, and will provide the team to try out different players and combinations.

1-2nd ODI squad : KL Rahul (c), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar

3rd ODI : Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Washington Sundar, R. Ashwin.